Bishops name 32 commission members


The United Methodist Council of Bishops announced the membership of the Commission on A Way Forward October 25, 2016. Oregon-Idaho's Rev. Donna Pritchard is on the list as is Bishop Grant Hagiya, formerly bishop of the Greater NW area.

The Council of Bishops has announced the 32 United Methodists who will serve on the commission charged with bridging the denomination’s deep divisions on homosexuality and fostering church unity.

“After three months of diligent and prayerful discernment, bishops have selected eight fellow bishops, 11 laity, 11 elders and two deacons to serve on the commission," said Bishop Bruce R. Ough, president of the Council of Bishops, in a statement. “This group is representative of our theological diversity.”

Read the United Methodist News Service story.